Kristine Carlson Asselin: 2012 NESCBWI Conference

From: Kristine Carlson Asselin
http://krisasselin.blogspot.com/2012/01/2012-nescbwi-conference.html
January 19, 2012 at 06:00AM

If you’re going to be in the New England area in April, you should definitely consider registering for the New England SCBWI Conference from April 20-22.

I attended my first regional conference in April 2007. I was an extreme newbie. Nervous. I was sure I was a poser, and that everyone else knew more than me. Keep in mind, at the time I had been a director of a department at a major American university, had supervised professional level staff, had coordinated a regional conference (for a different organization). In short, I was a grown up. I knew stuff.

But the writing thing was new.

The people of NESCBWI are awesome. No one ever made me feel “less than.” I immediately felt part of something. Something cool.

Flash forward five years. I’ve been a volunteer since 2008. Getting involved as a volunteer is a great way to feel a part of something, network, and make friends. This year, I’m organizing the Special Interest Groups and the Submissions Strategy Consultations.

And for the first time, this year, I’m faculty. I have the extreme honor to be on an Author/Agent panel with my agent Vickie Motter, as well as Kate Messner and her agent Jennifer Laughran, and Christine Brodien-Jones and her agent Stephen Fraser. If I squee a little, you’ll know why. ::pinch me::

It’s going to be an awesome conference. Registration opens on Monday, January 23. Hope to see you there!

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Kristine Carlson Asselin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Kristine Carlson Asselin: 2012 NESCBWI Conference.

Comments are closed.

