Theresa Milstein: Naked Ambition

From: Theresa’s Tales of Teaching Tribulations and Typing Teen Texts
http://theresamilstein.blogspot.com/2012/06/naked-ambition.html
June 15, 2012 at 06:33AM

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out
how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them
better.  The credit belongs to the
man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and
blood, who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; because
there is not effort without error and shortcomings; but who does actually
strive to do the deed; who knows the great enthusiasm, the great devotion, who
spends himself in a worthy cause, who at the best knows in the end the triumph
of high achievement and who at the worst, if he fails, at least he falls while
daring greatly.  So that his place
shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory no defeat.”
- Theodore Roosevelt
Here’s what I’ve been up to in my writing life:
Naked Eye
I’ve never worked this hard on a query. Never worked this
hard on a manuscript.
Never had a manuscript make it this far in ABNA (though it
was cut for quarterfinals).
Since then, I’ve had 1 more writer look at the query. Had 4
more writers look at the manuscript. 
It hasn’t been polished—it’s been scoured
Now I’m querying the editor and agent who requested
partials, along with the other editors and agents who attended the conference.
5 out so far. More to follow.

Project X
I completed the rough draft 2 weeks ago at 60k.  Revisions began yesterday.  Soon enough I’ll be looking for
readers. 
The query + 9 pages were critiqued at the NE-SCBWI conference
in April.  The editor thought the
manuscript had a good voice, and there was a market for it.  She gave me some direction, which I
incorporated. Best of all, she thought the query was solid.  This is crazy 1
person looked at it besides me, and I didn’t revise it that many times.  Could it be I’ve finally figured out
how to write a decent query? 
Time will tell.
100RPM


Aubrie Dionne                                      
 
is hosting me on her blog today to tell about 100RPM.  
For details, PLEASE VISIT! 

Writers, where are you
in your writing life? 
Wherever you are, I
hope you’re victorious.
P.S. My friend Brigid 
has a wonderful piece in a contest. 
Please read her  ENTRY. 
If you like it…  VOTE!

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Theresa Milstein. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

