Hazel Mitchell: Summer NESCBWI Banner

From: Hazel Mitchell children’s Illustrator and writer
http://hazelmitchell.blogspot.com/2012/06/summer-nescbwi-banner.html
June 21, 2012 at 08:41AM

This week I was asked to create a banner for New England’s SCBWI Facebook page. This was an honour and a lot of fun to do. What better than lobster and water on a day that was over 90F .. phew, Maine!

Here is the banner.

View it on Facebook at NESCBWI page

I wanted to keep it fun and lively, so it’s one of my digital drawings straight into Photoshop, no sketching. It stops me overthinking and it’s a style that is appealing to younger eyes. And older ones too I hope!

Right now I am packing to go to ALA (American Library Conference) in Anaheim, CA. This is my first time at a big library conference and it’s exciting. I have two book signings, so if you are going, catch me at Kane Miller (with Anastasia Suen, author of ‘All Star Cheerleaders’) at 11am Saturday and at Charlesbridge’s booth Saturday 2-3pm signing ‘Hidden New Jersey’.

I am looking forward to meeting LIBRARIANS and catching up with some industry friends. So please come and say HELLO!

There will be photos …

Right, back to packing.

Toodles
Hazel

On the bedside table:
A slew of Emily Gravett picture books
‘Picture This’ and ‘What it is’ by Lynda Barry – recommend highly.

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Hazel Mitchell and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Hazel Mitchell: Summer NESCBWI Banner.

Comments are closed.

