Sarah Albee: Follow the Bouncing Ball

From: Sarah Albee
http://www.sarahalbeebooks.com/2012/07/follow-the-bouncing-ball-2/
July 18, 2012 at 05:47AM

Today’s blog is a celebration of the fortieth anniversary of the passing of Title IX, which is a portion of the Education Amendments of 1972. TItle IX helped combat gender discrimination in education.

The language of the amendment did not explicitly mention sports, but Title IX did wonders to help level the funding for girls’ and women’s athletics. I lived through the Before and After. I remember the days when girls had to take Home Ec while the boys had to take “shop.” I remember being made to take dance in gym class with the girls, while the boys got to play basketball. I remember asking if I could play basketball instead. The gym teacher told me I couldn’t, so I staged a protest (my parents were hippy-dippy college professors).  I got sent to the principal’s office for sedition.

I think that incident was one of the reasons I decided to become an athlete. By the time I got to college (post Title IX), our women’s basketball team got to fly around the country on planes, just as the men’s team did. And the men’s and women’s track teams worked out and competed together. It was awesome.

Here’s me and two of my teammates at one of my college track meets.

And just to show how far girls have come–here’s my husband/coach with some of his team. I love this picture.

They’re the loveliest girls ever, but they’ll rip your throat out on the basketball court. They’re awesome.

Upper image: Female students playing basketball in a gymnasium, Western High School, Washington, D.C., courtesy of Library of Congress LC-USZC4-9676
Lower Historical Image: Smith College class of 1902 basketball team
Taft pictures: Peter Frew
Posted on July 18, 2012, in Sarah Albee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sarah Albee: Follow the Bouncing Ball.

Comments are closed.

