Shoshana Flax: Wishin’ and Hopin’

From: Walk the Ridgepole
http://walktheridgepole.blogspot.com/2012/08/wishin-and-hopin.html
August 06, 2012 at 07:22PM

Every so often, a young customer will ask if we have “anything else” by Rebecca Stead. These customers have usually read and loved When You Reach Me (and its oft-referenced A Wrinkle in Time), and may or may not have also read First Light. “Her next book, Liar & Spy, comes out in September,” I tell them. If I’m really feeling evil, I wiggle my eyebrows and add, “I’ve read it. It’s really good.”

They want it. They want to reach out and touch it without summer having to end. I commiserate with them as I hand them other character-driven fantasies (Breadcrumbs Breadcrumbs Breadcrumbs), and I grin to myself over how much they care. This isn’t an adult concerned with what kids “should” be reading or what gift for a child will please the child’s parents. This, like so much of the purest book joy, comes right from the kids, and if my memories of awaiting the next BSC Super-Special serve me correctly, those kids are going to part-enjoy every second of their agonizing anticipation.

A large cardboard sign just went up in the kids’ section, announcing the arrival of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 7: The Third Wheel. As you might imagine, kids are noticing.

The book comes out in November.

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Shoshana Flax. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Shoshana Flax: Wishin’ and Hopin’.

Comments are closed.

