Hazel Mitchell: What’s My Style?

From: Hazel Mitchell children’s Illustrator and writer
http://hazelmitchell.blogspot.com/2012/08/whats-my-style.html
August 16, 2012 at 09:10AM

HOW DO I KNOW WHAT MY STYLE IS?
and the second question
HOW DO I GET ONE?
And here’s the thing – most of us already have a style. 
Writer’s call it VOICE. ‘What is our voice? Where does it come from? 
How do we capture it and nurture it and grow it?’  
As
a writer VOICE is the choices we make, the words we use, the cadence,
the point of view, 
the quality that makes the writing unique – and
recognizable.
And emerging illustrators struggle with all the same issues, especially
the ‘recognizable’ one. 

The one that will make us 
STAND OUT FROM THE
REST.

 Arthur Rackham

Toodles!
Hazel

Posted on August 16, 2012, in Hazel Mitchell and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Hazel Mitchell: What’s My Style?.

Comments are closed.

