Linda Zajac: Zion National Park – The Narrows

From: Linda Zajac
http://lindazajac.blogspot.com/2012/09/zion-national-park-narrows.html
September 01, 2012 at 04:35PM

I expect to be quite busy churning out pages in September, so I’m not sure how often I’ll be posting here.     After a long break, next week I’m meeting my writing friends to review material.

These photographs are from hiking The Narrows in Zion National Park.  It was an exciting and fascinating hike in a slot canyon.  We rented water socks, special shoes and a pole from Zion Adventure just outside the park.  With temperatures at 105 degrees, the cool interior of this canyon was the only place to beat the heat.  We hiked in and out of water that at times was up to our waists.  Fun fun fun!  I LOVED this hike and sloshing through the water!  It’s rated as a difficult hike, but for me, it was more adventure than anything else.  At one point I thought I heard the boom of thunder.  Slot canyons are dangerous in thunderstorms because of flash flooding and no place to escape.  Thankfully, it turned out to be kids doing cannonballs off a big boulder.  Phew!  Next time, I’ll post about the wildlife I spotted in Zion.

Posted on September 1, 2012, in Linda Zajac. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Linda Zajac: Zion National Park – The Narrows.

Comments are closed.

