The Write Sisters: Poetry Friday–Before I Die

From: THE WRITE SISTERS
http://thewritesisters.blogspot.com/2012/09/poetry-friday-before-i-die.html
September 07, 2012 at 12:01AM


Here’s an untitled poem from For Paul and Other Poems, in Collected Works by Lorine Niedecker:

The death of my poor father
leaves debts
and two small houses.

To settle this estate
a thousand fees arise–
I enrich the law.

Before my own death is certified,
recorded, final judgement
judged

taxes taxed
I shall own a book
of old Chinese poems

and binoculars
to probe the river
trees.

Simple wishes, hopefully obtained.

If you haven’t viewed the “Before I Die” project of Candy Chang, be sure to visit it here. I’d like to think that most people’s wishes can be fulfilled if they make an effort.

Katya is today’s Round-Up host at Write. Sketch. Repeat.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in The Write Sisters. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Write Sisters: Poetry Friday–Before I Die.

Comments are closed.

