Jo Knowles: Gratitude

From: Jo Knowles
http://jbknowles.livejournal.com/464442.html
September 10, 2012 at 04:09PM

I think this may have been the best birthday I’ve ever had. And it lasted all weekend! Friday night dear friends arrived so that they could get up the next morning and join in my 5-mile birthday run.

For some inspiration, we all put on BE tattoos (if you’ve read SEE YOU AT HARRY’S, you know the significance 😀 ). My friend David also sent me a joke gift with a funny message:

Here we are at the starting line (aka, the road in front of our house):

And here are some pretty shots of the run. The view was spectacular. (Photos here on out courtesy of my pal Erica)

Running3

Coming up on the last mile, there was this sign on the side of the road, secretly placed there by my dear friend Katy:

Sign

The little note on the side says, “You can do it!” I really really needed to see those words. And yes, I totally teared up. THANK YOU KATY! Then, Erica pulled out her iPhone and played the theme music to ROCKY and we all ran the last half quarter mile doing the Rocky fist pump.

And then… we finished at our church:

Finish

When we got home, the power went out and we couldn’t shower! Since we couldn’t run water, it was also hard to get ready for our music party planned for that night. So… we took our stinky selves downtown and walked around, and then came back home and played SORRY!. The power finally came back about 1.5 hours before the party was to start, so everyone took quick power showers and we managed to be ready by the time the first guests arrived. 🙂

Here are some friends making music in the living room:

Band

It was a great day. I felt loved. I felt proud. And I felt really excited to have raised some money for a great cause! Thank you to all my friends who cheered us on, who donated, and who were there with us in spirit. Here’s me, feeling very full of joy (and maybe a little too much wine). Please don’t ask about that thing on my neck. ;-P

The next morning, we all got up and had a little breakfast, and then went for a 1.5 mile walk. It felt great to stretch those stiff muscles! And to say hi to the cows, our constant (albeit somewhat unenthusiastic) cheerleaders.
~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Monday Morning Warm-Up:

Think of a meaningful goal you can reach by your next birthday. Maybe one that is good for you, as well as good for someone else. Write it down. You don’t have to tell anyone else what it is. But know you’ve got cheerleaders if you need them (and I don’t mean the cows!). xo

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Jo Knowles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Jo Knowles: Gratitude.

Comments are closed.

