Joyce Ray:

From: Musings
http://joyceray.blogspot.com/2012/09/poetry-friday-celebrating-saint.html
September 14, 2012 at 01:00AM

Poetry Friday
Celebrating Saint Hildegard’s Feast Day

After a summer hiatus, I hope to be a more regular contributor to Poetry Friday again. Certainly, the offerings each week introduce me to amazing poets and work I wouldn’t want to miss.Today’s poetry banquet is hosted by Diane at Random Noodling. Thanks, Diane. I can’t wait to sample all that’s dished up.

This week I got a sneak peek at the cover art for my first YA book, Feathers and Trumpets, A Story of Hildegard of Bingen to be published by Apprentice Shop Books. After blinking between disbelief and amazement, I called to my husband to share the moment. This is all new to me. I feel humbled that my words are inspiring art. Thank you to illustrator Lisa Greenleaf for the first draft of a gorgeous cover.

Saint Hildegard’s feast day is on Monday, September 17th. In honor of her day and her upcoming elevation to Doctor of the Church, I share this poem, the starting point for one of the book’s chapters.

Statue of Saint Hildegard at St. Hildegard’s Abbey, Eibingen, Germany

Feather in the Dogwood

“I am a feather on the breath of God.”
~Hildegard von Bingen

Adrift among dogwood petals,
glade shadow voices whisper gold
brilliance into the greenwood.

Wings quiver, undulate,
scribe radiant notes that
flow and ebb on blossom cream.

“O mirum admirandum.”

I whirl on sacred breath,
dance, reach, leap, until
crystalline tones
pierce my shaft
pin me
to the dogwood

whose life sap pulsates
my surrender
in a fractured crescendo.

© Joyce Ray

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Joyce Ray. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Joyce Ray:.

Comments are closed.

