Gail Gauthier: Do You Need Someone To Draw You A Picture To Understand Plot Shapes?

From: Original Content
http://blog.gailgauthier.com/2012/09/do-you-need-someone-to-draw-you-picture.html
September 24, 2012 at 07:33PM

If so, 21 Plot Shapes and the Pros and Cons of Each could be for you.

I found this article over a month ago and e-mailed the link to myself so I’d remember to read it. It worked! I just found it in my in-box and did, indeed, read it.

It took some effort on my part, though, because at first I thought all the different line drawings describing plots were a joke. But, no, it’s for real. And many of them do make sense. Fortunately, the author, Mette Ivie Harrison (turns out I’ve written about her before here at OC), used a lot of children’s/YA novels as examples, and I happened to have read them. Plot 2 relates to The Hunger Games and 3 to The Queen of Attolia. Plot 7–Holes. Plot 19–Some books by Holly Black. Many of the other plot shapes relate to well-known books, TV shows, or movies.

My two favorite lines appear in Plot 14. “There is no climax, no high moment, no resolution. There is only death.”

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Gail Gauthier. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Gail Gauthier: Do You Need Someone To Draw You A Picture To Understand Plot Shapes?.

Comments are closed.

