Russ Cox: Books and Games and Apps, Oh My!

From: Illustration, animation and general thoughts from the merry land of Otis.
http://smilingotis.blogspot.com/2012/10/books-and-games-and-apps-oh-my.html
October 12, 2012 at 06:31PM

All images ©2012 Russ Cox | Smiling Otis Studio

As fall is making a quick stop here in Maine before winter comes for a visit, I have been holed up in my studio working on a wide range of projects when it dawned on me that I have neglected my poor blog. I was surprised that the last time I posted on it was over a month ago. Where does the time go? I did have a vacation to Pennsylvania to visit family and friends during the lapse in postings so it was not like it was all work and no play. I must admit that I am ready for winter. It is my favorite season with the cold air and snow. Not that I am a skier but just love the look and feel of winter. Everyone thinks I am crazy and they are probably right.


Since my last posting, I have picked up two book projects. One is a second children’s book with Outhouse Ink Publishing and the other is from a fairly well known publisher but I cannot say more than that. I can tell you that the second book was written by someone is not at a celebrity status, but many will recognize the name. I am so excited to be working on both books and heading into the direction that I want to take the next step towards. Both books will be out sometime next summer and I will post more info on them when I can.

I am  also working on a cool kid’s game for Gamewright. Again, I cannot say more than that but it is very exciting in knowing that my artwork will be in toy and game stores. this si something I always wanted to do and now the opportunity has present itself. Hopefully soon, I can post images from the project, once Gamewright says it is okay.

And if it is not busy enough, I am in the middle of a second app for developer. The deadline is very tight and I have a few weeks to get everything completed so they can submit both apps to Apple. I should be able to talk about both apps once Apple approves them and they are listed.

I guess I have not had anything really to share but there is a ton going on here. In my free time (HA!) I have been sending out my dummy for Faraway Friends which has been going well but no real bites. I am encouraged to keep pushing forward with it but I also need to start work on the other stories rolling around my head. Maybe if I have a few more to offer, a publisher or agent will see something and want to work with me in getting them out.


Attached are some doodles that I have been doing while taking a break. Or maybe in my sleep. Maybe we have some doodle elves that are drawing in my sketchbook while I sleep. Hmmm, that might be a story idea so “DIBS!” Attached are a few of them so you have something visual to break up the copy.

Oh, if all this is not enough, I am doing a Schoolism Painter class with Ryan Woodward. I felt like I needed a jump start with the software. This is a great class for anyone who wants to learn Painter and pick up a few techniques along the way. The above image are a few samples from the course. I still need to finish it up before it expires. I promise you that I do sleep from time-to-time.

Well that is it for this posting. I do hope to have some things to show very soon and maybe a few more announcements so please hang in there. 

“I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape – the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter.  Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn’t show.”  ~Andrew Wyeth
Posted on October 12, 2012, in Russ Cox and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Russ Cox: Books and Games and Apps, Oh My!.

Comments are closed.

