Melissa Stewart: Behind the Books: Reaching Out to Angola

From: Celebrate Science
http://celebratescience.blogspot.com/2012/10/behind-books-reaching-out-to-angola.html
October 17, 2012 at 05:00AM

Thanks to a grant from the U.S. State Department, I recently had the opportunity to speak via videoconference with students in Angola. Wow!

Boy, were they interested in science. They asked me question after question about how diamonds form and how to find fossils. They really challenged me when I mentioned that some creatures can live in completely dark ecosystems. And they were simultaneously fascinated, delighted, and horrified to hear that they have tiny mites living in their eyelashes.
In other words, they were no different than the kids I talk with here in the U.S.

No matter where children live, no matter how they lead their lives, they are all curious about the world around them. And they are all eager to live.

I’m not sure who was more disappointed when our hour and a half visit was over—them or me. It’s the kind of day that reminds me how lucky I am to have this job.
Posted on October 17, 2012, in Melissa Stewart and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Melissa Stewart: Behind the Books: Reaching Out to Angola.

Comments are closed.

